Jump to the main content block

About Us

NACollege of Humanities and Social Sciences was established in 1984, the fourth academic college at National Tsing Hua University. Concentrating on achieving academic excellence, the College aims at integrating interdisciplinary collaboration between all research topics among humanities and social sciences. The College also aims to cultivate future leaders in the field of humanities and social sciences. We embrace the balance of theory and practice, humanity and technology, and care for society. We assist students to think globally, to develop a team work spirit, and to live with passion, responsibility and dependability.

       The College of Humanities and Social Sciences currently possesses twelve academic departments: Department of Chinese Literature (includes M.A., Ph.D.), Department of Foreign Languages and Literature (includes M.A.), Interdisciplinary Program of Humanities and Social Sciences, Institute of History (M.A. and Ph.D.), Institute of Linguistics (M.A. and Ph.D.), Institute of Sociology (M.A. and Ph.D.), Institute of Anthropology (M.A. and Ph.D.), Institute of Philosophy (M.A. and Ph.D.), Institute of Taiwan Literature (M.A. and Ph.D.), Institute of Sinophone Studies(M.A.), Graduated Program of Taiwan Studies for in-service Teachers and International Master’s Program in Inter-Asia Cultural Studies.

The College has six research centers, the purpose of which is to encourage cross-discipline research collaboration: Center for Asia-Pacific/Culture Studies, Center on Gender and Society Studies, Center for Philosophy in Practice, Center for World Austronesia and Indigenous Peoples, Research Center for Literary Thoughts and Discourses, and Research Center for Underwater Archaeology and Heritage.